Lessons Everywhere

We have only been on the boat for about a month and already we have learned so many new things. Some we expected, others we didn’t. For instance, we know now that we for sure need a new toilet. It’s not terrible; it’s just seen its day. I’ll just leave it at that.

We wondered if we were bringing too many things onto the boat and we now know that we did. I am already taking things back off daily. Someone just recently told me, “An item must have three uses for it to stay aboard the boat.” At first I thought that seemed a bit much but honestly, it’s not far from the truth. The rest is just clutter and we have begun to feel the uselessness of so many things. The decoration of our space is the ever changing beauty out all of our windows. I don’t want items to distract that view. That’s easier said than done though. It’s hard to get down to the minimum items needed.

Cooking….such a love/hate relationship. Our galley is wonderful in a variety of ways. We have a good size refrigerator and a two burner stove. Room for the dishes/cups/pans we need and enough space for food. It really isn’t bad. What has been harder than I thought is the loss of having an oven/microware. I thought we would be fine. I didn’t think it would be this hard. Turns out we toasted/roasted/baked/reheated more than I thought. I didn’t expect to overhaul how we eat with this move but it’s so necessary right now. I mean, we have to face it three times a day, may as well deal with it. The Crockpot has been dusted off and the good ol’stir fry is appearing quite a bit more. Not going to lie, I might have mourned the loss of the quick and easy chicken nugget lunch for the girls. I know there are some good toaster ovens we can get. In time though. I am curious if it’s necessary or if we can just move past needing it.

Our girls have bunk beds for the first time. It is also Sissy’s first big bed. Lyla of course claimed the top bunk before we even purchased the boat. It’s been good, better than I thought. We broke a vicious cycle of bedtime games that had evolved in our old home. It was always one more thing. This is such a welcome reprieve and a chance for the girls to learn new things too.

Processed with Rookie

Our family has always enjoyed being outside. Our vacations usually involve camping and we would much prefer to be outside than inside. However, we had lost that a bit, maybe from having kids or maybe living in houses/apartments in neighborhoods. It was easy to just stay inside. Our time outside now has grown exponentially. We didn’t think about the impact that would have. The fresh air of the ocean is so nice to take in each day, the skies are beautiful and the moon shines off the water in a picture that almost looks fake. Wildlife is already aplenty and I know the change in seasons will only create more to see. There is a constant awareness of the weather mainly because you can feel the movement and change of wind and currents. We are way more attached to Mother Nature than I thought we would be. Talk about naive to boating now that I think about it. Ha!

We have found changing our lifestyle to be pretty invigorating. It has allowed us to look critically at a variety of pieced in our life. I highly recommend taking the leap to trying something new in your lifestyle or learn something new. It doesn’t have to be big. It’s so refreshing and I don’t think you will look back with regret.

3 thoughts on “Lessons Everywhere

Leave a Reply

