Top ten signs we live on a boat

dock.2
1. I now determine whether I am going to go grocery shopping on the tide. There are a series of ramps here at the marina that move up or down depending on the tide. So if it low tide the ramps are steep and this lady is not grocery shopping. When we were moving onto the boat I decided to start down a very steep ramp with a very full dock cart. Needless to say, had Matt not been right behind me, a good portion of our kitchen wares would have been on the sea floor. Lesson learned.

2. Taking a $3 shower would be AMAAAAZING! We have a shower on the boat but it’s small and the temperature can be a little temperamental. Sometimes using the marina showers is just easier. They cost money though. Six quarters gets you five minutes. Every minute after that is one quarter. Seriously, three dollar showers = eleven minutes of bliss. Might be worth it one day.

3. I would be the happiest person ever if we never received another tangible gift. I’m not an ungrateful person; we literally don’t have the room. We are slowly transitioning our thoughts to making gifts more about experiences and less about things.

4. I now scout out solar panel and wind turbine set-ups. It’s been interesting to see our power use. We really don’t use much, however with a little work, we could use even less.

5. When friends have us over we gauge whether they are the type that would think it’s weird if we ask to do laundry.

6. I’ve started to wonder how far my kids can walk into town with their life jackets on. There’s a point where it’s time to take them off. That location is still a little fuzzy to me.

7. I could not be more thrilled about the level of humidity on my boat. It has created the optimal growing environment for my herb garden.

8. ‘Checking on something’ in the boat usually means moving a lot of things around to open a hatch or get into the bottom of a closet. Every tank, motor and trap is hidden in the most random place. Nothing stays put away for long.

9. Walking the girls back to the boat in the pouring rain with groceries in paper bags all the while facing into a stiff wind still makes me feel pretty lucky. I will never take this experience for granted.

10. I’m pretty sure I was the only person hoping not to win the giant stuffed animal in the raffle I entered a few weeks ago. My eye was on winning as I filled out my little slips in the store and the error of my ways dawned on me moments later. Thankfully, I rarely win anything or we would have a five foot tall giraffe on our boat with us.

8 thoughts on “Top ten signs we live on a boat

  1. We are about to move onto the boat we just bought (never lived aboard before) … I appreciate your list here! I’m looking at this like an adventure, but I’m realizing the hurdles one at a time … I still have no idea how to fit my current walk-in closet with wrap-around hanging room and shelves to the ceiling (all full) into a very small the three-drawer dresser and two under-the bed drawers we have in our bedroom on the boat. I’m WILL do this, but not sure how this will happen.

    • That is super exciting about your impending move to a boat. Congrats. My best advice to you is to start small in deciding what you really need. I packed clothes into seasons so that I can grab it really easily when it’s time. Best of luck to you and thanks for reading!

  2. Great list! We’ve lived aboard (relatively small boats) in the NW for 27 years now, so I can really relate. I, too, separate my clothes by season, and keep off season clothes in our storage room. It makes it much easier as the seasons change. And to Jade, you can do this! The benefits way outweigh the drawbacks.

  3. We too just bought a boat. We are going to do a trial run living aboard while we are still working and still have our house. If all goes right, we will rent our house out and live aboard at least during the summers and possibly in our little motorhome during the winter. We are looking forward to the adventure and a new chapter in our lives. Retirement is not too far away We are preparing to live on little income.

  4. We often reminise on the 4 or 5 years spent aboard our C&C 32 in the 80s and think about if we would do it again. At this point in life I just couldn’t do without my workshop, bandsaw, drillpress, etc., but as seniors, the dampness would get to us, as well as the climbing up and down the companionway stairs. I wouldn’t trade the experience for anything though, even having to put the kettle on for hot water (no pressure water for us). Now we enjoy sitting with a little fire and a cold beer in front of the Dickinson Newport woodstove in our sunroom. Best of luck to you all and we are a little envious of your waterborne lifestyles.

  5. I love reading your blog! I especially loved your list of 10 things. I can imagine that 11 min shower and laughed about #5. You could do laundry at my house any time!!!

  6. Hi there! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche.

    Your blog provided us useful information to
    work on. You have done a marvellous job!

Leave a Reply

